Events & Concerts

General Information

Welcome to our Events and Concerts area. Here, you can find out about what’s happening at St. John’s.

If you are looking for information on our worship, please visit our Worship Services area, where you can find our service times, styles, and locations. Any variations from the regular pattern appear on this page.

Concerts

St John’s Church has held fortnightly lunch-time concerts since 1975. Concerts are held on alternate Thursdays throughout most of the year with breaks at Christmas, Easter and the summer. Please check this calendar for the next few dates (and programmes, when available).

Light refreshments are available from 11.45am and the concert begins at 12.30pm. There is usually an interval and the concert finishes at around 1.45pm.

Admission is free but there is a collection on the way out to cover expenses. Please come and join us!

July – September 2019

Home Group @ Vicarage
Tue 23 July 2019 @ 8:00 pm
Welcome Centre
Wed 24 July 2019 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Summer lunch-time concert
Thu 25 July 2019 @ 12:30 pm – 1:45 pm
These summer concerts are organised by Nina Kopparhed. Thurs 11 July: David Arditti: Composer’s concert Thurs 18 July: Mark Wilson (violin) and Alex Wallace (piano) [...]
Welcome Centre
Sat 27 July 2019 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Welcome Centre
Wed 31 July 2019 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Summer lunch-time concert
Thu 1 August 2019 @ 12:30 pm – 1:45 pm
These summer concerts are organised by Nina Kopparhed. Thurs 11 July: David Arditti: Composer’s concert Thurs 18 July: Mark Wilson (violin) and Alex Wallace (piano) [...]
Welcome Centre
Sat 3 August 2019 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Welcome Centre
Wed 7 August 2019 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Summer lunch-time concert
Thu 8 August 2019 @ 12:30 pm – 1:45 pm
These summer concerts are organised by Nina Kopparhed. Thurs 11 July: David Arditti: Composer’s concert Thurs 18 July: Mark Wilson (violin) and Alex Wallace (piano) [...]
Welcome Centre
Sat 10 August 2019 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Welcome Centre
Wed 14 August 2019 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Summer lunch-time concert
Thu 15 August 2019 @ 12:30 pm – 1:45 pm
These summer concerts are organised by Nina Kopparhed. Thurs 11 July: David Arditti: Composer’s concert Thurs 18 July: Mark Wilson (violin) and Alex Wallace (piano) [...]
Welcome Centre
Sat 17 August 2019 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Welcome Centre
Wed 21 August 2019 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Summer lunch-time concert
Thu 22 August 2019 @ 12:30 pm – 1:45 pm
These summer concerts are organised by Nina Kopparhed. Thurs 11 July: David Arditti: Composer’s concert Thurs 18 July: Mark Wilson (violin) and Alex Wallace (piano) [...]
Welcome Centre
Sat 24 August 2019 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Welcome Centre
Wed 28 August 2019 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Summer lunch-time concert
Thu 29 August 2019 @ 12:30 pm – 1:45 pm
These summer concerts are organised by Nina Kopparhed. Thurs 11 July: David Arditti: Composer’s concert Thurs 18 July: Mark Wilson (violin) and Alex Wallace (piano) [...]
Welcome Centre
Sat 31 August 2019 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Welcome Centre
Wed 4 September 2019 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Summer lunch-time concert
Thu 5 September 2019 @ 12:30 pm – 1:45 pm
These summer concerts are organised by Nina Kopparhed. Thurs 11 July: David Arditti: Composer’s concert Thurs 18 July: Mark Wilson (violin) and Alex Wallace (piano) [...]
Welcome Centre
Sat 7 September 2019 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
The Mystery of Godliness
Sat 7 September 2019 @ 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm
All are welcome to this evangelistic event which is particularly aimed at Asian Christians. The worship and music will be in Hindi and English. Acharya [...]
No 6 pm Evensong tonight
Sun 8 September 2019 @ 6:00 pm – 7:00 pm
We have cancelled Evensong tonight to make room for preparations for our Mystery of Godliness event
The Mystery of Godliness
Sun 8 September 2019 @ 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm
All are welcome to this evangelistic event which is particularly aimed at Asian Christians. The worship and music will be in Hindi and English. Acharya [...]
Home Group @ Vicarage
Tue 10 September 2019 @ 8:00 pm
Welcome Centre
Wed 11 September 2019 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Summer lunch-time concert
Thu 12 September 2019 @ 12:30 pm – 1:45 pm
These summer concerts are organised by Nina Kopparhed. Thurs 11 July: David Arditti: Composer’s concert Thurs 18 July: Mark Wilson (violin) and Alex Wallace (piano) [...]
Welcome Centre
Sat 14 September 2019 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Home Group @ Vicarage
Tue 17 September 2019 @ 8:00 pm