Events & Concerts

The church is currently open only for our 9 am Sunday Service (Morning Prayer/A Service of the Word). This starts on Sunday 26 July and will be weekly until Sunday 6 September. After that we may be able to have other activities, subject to the guidance at the time.
For details of our worship, including on-line services, please see our Worship Services page.


General Information

Welcome to our Events and Concerts area. Here, you can find out about what’s happening at St. John’s.

If you are looking for information on our worship, please visit our Worship Services area, where you can find our service times, styles, and locations. Any variations from the regular pattern appear on this page.

Concerts

St John’s Church has held fortnightly lunch-time concerts since 1975. Concerts are held on alternate Thursdays throughout most of the year with breaks at Christmas, Easter and the summer. Please check this calendar for the next few dates (and programmes, when available).

Light refreshments are available from 11.45am and the concert begins at 12.30pm. There is usually an interval and the concert finishes at around 1.45pm.

Admission is free but there is a collection on the way out to cover expenses. Please come and join us!

January – March 2020

Welcome Centre
Wed 15 January 2020 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Welcome Centre
Sat 18 January 2020 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Home Group @ Vicarage
Tue 21 January 2020 @ 8:00 pm
Welcome Centre
Wed 22 January 2020 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Concert: Dominika Rosiek (violin) and Miho Sanou (piano)
Thu 23 January 2020 @ 12:30 pm – 1:45 pm
Dominika Rosiek (violin) and Miho Sanou (piano) Brahms: Sonata Op. 78 No. 1 in G major for Violin and Piano P.de Sarasate: Playera Clara Schumann: [...]
Welcome Centre
Sat 25 January 2020 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Messy Church
Sun 26 January 2020 @ 3:30 pm – 5:30 pm
Messy Church is church for all ages with a difference. Join us for crafts, songs, stories, food, and to explore the Christian faith together! Messy [...]
Home Group @ Vicarage
Tue 28 January 2020 @ 8:00 pm
Welcome Centre
Wed 29 January 2020 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Monthly hour of prayer
Thu 30 January 2020 @ 7:30 pm – 8:30 pm
Join us for an hour of prayer on the last Thursday of every month.
Welcome Centre
Sat 1 February 2020 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Home Group @ Vicarage
Tue 4 February 2020 @ 8:00 pm
Welcome Centre
Wed 5 February 2020 @ 12:00 pm – 1:30 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee. Please note that today’s Welcome Centre finishes at 1.30 because there is [...]
Funeral
Wed 5 February 2020 @ 2:00 pm – 2:45 pm
Today we hold the Funeral Service for Elmars Kalnins, who died on 15 January at the age of 98.
Concert: Valentin Schiedermair (piano)
Thu 6 February 2020 @ 12:30 pm – 1:45 pm
Valentin Schiedermair (piano) William Byrd: Coranto (from the Fitzwilliam Virginal Book) Anon: Muscadin; The Irish Ho-Hoane Bach: Bist Du bei mir, BWV 508; Partita No. [...]
Welcome Centre
Sat 8 February 2020 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Home Group @ Vicarage
Tue 11 February 2020 @ 8:00 pm
Welcome Centre
Wed 12 February 2020 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Welcome Centre
Sat 15 February 2020 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Home Group @ Vicarage
Tue 18 February 2020 @ 8:00 pm
Welcome Centre
Wed 19 February 2020 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Concert: Joanne Rozario (clarinet) and Mark Nixon (piano)
Thu 20 February 2020 @ 12:30 pm – 1:45 pm
Joanne Rozario (clarinet) and Mark Nixon (piano) Paul Reade: Excerpts from The Victorian Kitchen Garden Suite: 1 Prelude; 4 Exotica; 5 Summer Claude Debussy: Première [...]
Welcome Centre
Sat 22 February 2020 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Messy Church
Sun 23 February 2020 @ 3:30 pm – 5:30 pm
Messy Church is church for all ages with a difference. Join us for crafts, songs, stories, food, and to explore the Christian faith together! Messy [...]
Welcome Centre
Wed 26 February 2020 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Monthly hour of prayer
Thu 27 February 2020 @ 7:30 pm – 8:30 pm
Join us for an hour of prayer on the last Thursday of every month.
Welcome Centre
Sat 29 February 2020 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Home Group @ Vicarage
Tue 3 March 2020 @ 8:00 pm
Welcome Centre
Wed 4 March 2020 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Concert: Yuki Negishi (piano)
Thu 5 March 2020 @ 12:30 pm – 1:45 pm
Yuki Negishi (piano) Beethoven: Bagatelles, Op. 126 Nos. 4-6 Haydn: Variations in F minor, Hob. XVI-6 Beethoven: Sonata in F major, Op. 10, No. 2 [...]