Events & Concerts

General Information

Welcome to our Events and Concerts area. Here, you can find out about what’s happening at St. John’s.

If you are looking for information on our worship, please visit our Worship Services area, where you can find our service times, styles, and locations. Any variations from the regular pattern appear on this page.

Concerts

St John’s Church has held fortnightly lunch-time concerts since 1975. Concerts are held on alternate Thursdays throughout most of the year with breaks at Christmas, Easter and the summer. Please check this calendar for the next few dates (and programmes, when available).

Light refreshments are available from 11.45am and the concert begins at 12.30pm. There is usually an interval and the concert finishes at around 1.45pm.

Admission is free but there is a collection on the way out to cover expenses. Please come and join us!

February – April 2020

Home Group @ Vicarage
Tue 18 February 2020 @ 8:00 pm
Welcome Centre
Wed 19 February 2020 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Concert: Joanne Rozario (clarinet) and Mark Nixon (piano)
Thu 20 February 2020 @ 12:30 pm – 1:45 pm
Joanne Rozario (clarinet) and Mark Nixon (piano) Paul Reade: Excerpts from The Victorian Kitchen Garden Suite: 1 Prelude; 4 Exotica; 5 Summer Claude Debussy: Première [...]
Welcome Centre
Sat 22 February 2020 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Messy Church
Sun 23 February 2020 @ 3:30 pm – 5:30 pm
Messy Church is church for all ages with a difference. Join us for crafts, songs, stories, food, and to explore the Christian faith together! Messy [...]
Welcome Centre
Wed 26 February 2020 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Monthly hour of prayer
Thu 27 February 2020 @ 7:30 pm – 8:30 pm
Join us for an hour of prayer on the last Thursday of every month.
Welcome Centre
Sat 29 February 2020 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Welcome Centre
Wed 4 March 2020 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Concert: Yuki Negishi (piano)
Thu 5 March 2020 @ 12:30 pm – 1:45 pm
Yuki Negishi (piano)
Welcome Centre
Sat 7 March 2020 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Welcome Centre
Wed 11 March 2020 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Welcome Centre
Sat 14 March 2020 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Welcome Centre
Wed 18 March 2020 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
John MacDomnic (trumpet) and Adrian Boynton (piano/organ)
Welcome Centre
Sat 21 March 2020 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Welcome Centre
Wed 25 March 2020 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Monthly hour of prayer
Thu 26 March 2020 @ 7:30 pm – 8:30 pm
Join us for an hour of prayer on the last Thursday of every month.
Welcome Centre
Sat 28 March 2020 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Messy Church
Sun 29 March 2020 @ 3:30 pm – 5:30 pm
Messy Church is church for all ages with a difference. Join us for crafts, songs, stories, food, and to explore the Christian faith together! Messy [...]
Welcome Centre
Wed 1 April 2020 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Concert: Niel du Preez (piano)
Thu 2 April 2020 @ 12:30 pm – 1:45 pm
Niel du Preez (piano)
Welcome Centre
Sat 4 April 2020 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Welcome Centre
Wed 8 April 2020 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Stainer’s Crucifixion
Fri 10 April 2020 @ 7:00 pm – 8:30 pm
Stainer's Crucifixion
The Choir of St John’s, with other local singers, will perform The Crucifixion, by John Stainer, on Good Friday, 10 April, at 7 pm. Leaving [...]
Welcome Centre
Sat 11 April 2020 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Welcome Centre
Wed 15 April 2020 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Welcome Centre
Sat 18 April 2020 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Welcome Centre
Wed 22 April 2020 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Welcome Centre
Sat 25 April 2020 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).