Events & Concerts

General Information

Welcome to our Events and Concerts area. Here, you can find out about what’s happening at St. John’s.

If you are looking for information on our worship, please visit our Worship Services area, where you can find our service times, styles, and locations. Any variations from the regular pattern appear on this page.

Concerts

St John’s Church has held fortnightly lunch-time concerts since 1975. Concerts are held on alternate Thursdays throughout most of the year with breaks at Christmas, Easter and the summer. Please check this calendar for the next few dates (and programmes, when available).

Light refreshments are available from 11.45am and the concert begins at 12.30pm. There is usually an interval and the concert finishes at around 1.45pm.

Admission is free but there is a collection on the way out to cover expenses. Please come and join us!

September – October 2019

No 6 pm Evensong tonight
Sun 8 September 2019 @ 6:00 pm – 7:00 pm
We have cancelled Evensong tonight to make room for preparations for our Mystery of Godliness event
The Mystery of Godliness
Sun 8 September 2019 @ 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm
All are welcome to this evangelistic event which is particularly aimed at Asian Christians. The worship and music will be in Hindi and English. Acharya [...]
Home Group @ Vicarage
Tue 10 September 2019 @ 8:00 pm
Welcome Centre
Wed 11 September 2019 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Summer lunch-time concert
Thu 12 September 2019 @ 12:30 pm – 1:45 pm
These summer concerts are organised by Nina Kopparhed. Thurs 11 July: David Arditti: Composer’s concert Thurs 18 July: Mark Wilson (violin) and Alex Wallace (piano) [...]
Welcome Centre
Sat 14 September 2019 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Home Group @ Vicarage
Tue 17 September 2019 @ 8:00 pm
Welcome Centre
Wed 18 September 2019 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Concert: Warren Mailley-Smith (piano)
Thu 19 September 2019 @ 12:30 pm – 1:45 pm
Warren Mailley-Smith (piano) Beethoven: Tempest Sonata Liszt: Un Sospiro Chopin: Barcarolle Chopin: Bolero Chopin: Ballade No. 3 Gottschalk: Souvenirs d’Andalousie
Welcome Centre
Sat 21 September 2019 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Home Group @ Vicarage
Tue 24 September 2019 @ 8:00 pm
Welcome Centre
Wed 25 September 2019 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Alpha Course
Thu 26 September 2019 @ 7:30 pm – 9:00 pm
All welcome for our course on the basics of the Christian Faith, on 7 consecutive Thursday evenings. There’s also an awayday on Saturday 9 November. [...]
Welcome Centre
Sat 28 September 2019 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Messy Church
Sun 29 September 2019 @ 3:30 pm – 5:30 pm
Messy Church is church for all ages with a difference. Join us for crafts, songs, stories, food, and to explore the Christian faith together! Messy [...]
Home Group @ Vicarage
Tue 1 October 2019 @ 8:00 pm
Welcome Centre
Wed 2 October 2019 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Concert: Mina Miletic (piano)
Thu 3 October 2019 @ 12:30 pm – 1:45 pm
Mina Miletic (piano) Mozart: Fantasy D minor K397 Mozart: Sonata for piano in A major K331 Chopin: ‘Raindrop’ Prelude in D flat major Op. 28, [...]
Alpha Course
Thu 3 October 2019 @ 7:30 pm – 9:00 pm
All welcome for our course on the basics of the Christian Faith, on 7 consecutive Thursday evenings. There’s also an awayday on Saturday 9 November. [...]
Welcome Centre
Sat 5 October 2019 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Harvest Parish Lunch
Sun 6 October 2019 @ 12:00 pm
Join us after the 10 am Eucharist today for a Parish Lunch. Details available in Church and tickets from Peter Hawkins.
Home Group @ Vicarage
Tue 8 October 2019 @ 8:00 pm
Welcome Centre
Wed 9 October 2019 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Alpha Course
Thu 10 October 2019 @ 7:30 pm – 9:00 pm
All welcome for our course on the basics of the Christian Faith, on 7 consecutive Thursday evenings. There’s also an awayday on Saturday 9 November. [...]
Welcome Centre
Sat 12 October 2019 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Harrow Deanery Choirs Festival @ St Mary's Church
Sat 12 October 2019 @ 6:30 pm – 7:45 pm
This year’s Harrow Deanery Choirs Festival is at St Mary’s on the Hill as part of its 925th anniversary celebrations. It will take the form [...]
Welcome Centre
Wed 16 October 2019 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).
Concert: Plaegan Piano Trio
Thu 17 October 2019 @ 12:30 pm – 1:45 pm
The Plaegan Piano Trio: Helen Sills (violin) Michael Nebe (cello) Alan Brown (piano) Beethoven: Piano Trio op.11 Shostakovitch: Piano Trio no.1 in C minor op. [...]
Alpha Course
Thu 17 October 2019 @ 7:30 pm – 9:00 pm
All welcome for our course on the basics of the Christian Faith, on 7 consecutive Thursday evenings. There’s also an awayday on Saturday 9 November. [...]
Welcome Centre
Sat 19 October 2019 @ 12:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Drop in and join us for a free cup of tea or coffee (every Wednesday and Saturday, 12-3).